Why We Need To Talk About Cameron Crowe’s ‘Aloha’

On the surface, the hullabaloo about Emma Stone’s casting as hapa wahine Allison Ng in Cameron Crowe’s Aloha might seem pretty ridiculous. It’s only one movie, right? A fun summer love triangle rom-com set in a beautiful location and it’s all just Hollywood fantasy anyway. Nobody actually thinks movies are real life, etc etc, so why is everybody so flipping angry? See also: don’t we have more important things to worry about?

First of all, I’m not just angry. I mean, I am angry, but I don’t want to talk about Aloha just because I’m mad. There are plenty of movies that have pissed me right the hell off but aren’t really worth delving into. To me, right now, this movie is.

–Read more at: http://www.runningnekkid.com/content/why_we_need_talk_about_cameron_crowes_aloha

Leave a Reply

